2019-2020 Undergraduate Catalog 
    Sep 18, 2020  
2019-2020 Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]

School of Communication & Journalism

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges, Departments, & their Academic Programs

Lyle Olson, Director
Joshua Westwick, Associate Director
School of Communication and Journalism
Yeager Hall 211, Box 2235



Roxanne Lucchesi, Lyle Olson

Associate Professors

Jenn Anderson, Rocky Dailey, Karla Hunter, Rebecca Kuehl, Joshua Westwick

Assistant Professors

Kelli Chromey, Marina Hendricks 


Andrea Carlile, James Helland, Barbara Kleinjan, Mary Jo Nesmith, Frank Robertson, Heather Solberg


Mary Arnold, Charles Cecil, Jack Getz, Doris Giago, Laurie Haleta, Joel Hefling, Ruth Laird, Mary Perpich, Michael Schliessmann, Harold Widvey


The School of Communication and Journalism fosters the development of exemplary communicators as industry leaders, scholars, professionals, and educators through innovative curricula, research, practice, and opportunities.




Graduate Programs*

  • Communication and Media Studies (M.A.)
  • Mass Communication (M.M.C.)
  • Health Journalism Certificate

* Graduate degrees are offered in collaboration with the Graduate School. For details, see the Graduate Catalog.

Advanced Placement in Oral Communication

All students are required to take a designated oral communication course for graduation; however, those with previous training and experience in speech may apply to the School to take an advanced placement course in Communication Studies and earn credit for SPCM 101  Fundamentals of Speech concurrently. The disposition of the application for advanced placement rests with the Associate Director.

Facilities & Services

The School of Communication and Journalism’s main office is in Yeager Hall, the former Printing and Rural Journalism Building renamed in recognition of the contributions of Anson and Ada May Yeager. Mr. Yeager was longtime editor of the Argus Leader in Sioux Falls. The Yeager Media Center, completed in 2012, is a high-definition television and new media facility and the primary center for SDSU campus media production. Newly remodeled classrooms enhance teaching space in the modern educational facility. The second floor of Yeager Hall includes a conference room, a reading room, a student lounge, and individual offices. Communication studies faculty offices are in the Pugsley Continuing Education Center. In the future, all faculty offices will be in Yeager Hall.

Student Support & Engagement Opportunities

Students are invited to participate in one of the student organizations that faculty in the School advise:

  • Advertising Club
  • Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow
  • Journalism Club
  • Public Relations Student Society of America

Being involved in a student organization is a great way to spend time with other students in the department, promote activities on campus and gain leadership skills. The School has four honor society/organizations for qualified students: Alpha Delta Sigma (Advertising), Kappa Tau Alpha (Journalism), Lambda Pi Eta (Communication Studies), and Pi Kappa Delta (Forensics).  Additionally, while pursuing a degree in any major, students have the opportunity to get involved in Forensics.

Forensics - Opportunities are provided for participation in SDSU’s nationally recognized intercollegiate Forensics program. Local, regional, and national participation is sponsored. Activities include debate, public speaking, and oral interpretation in contests, workshops, and public performances. Any regularly enrolled undergraduate student is eligible to participate. University credit may be earned regardless of major. For more information contact instructor Andrea Carlile, Director of Forensics.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges, Departments, & their Academic Programs