2020-2021 Graduate Catalog 
    May 06, 2021  
2020-2021 Graduate Catalog

Department of Agronomy, Horticulture, & Plant Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges & Departments

David Wright, Department Head
Brent Turnipseed, Assistant Department Head
Senthil Subramanian, Professor/Graduate Coordinator
Department of Agronomy, Horticulture, and Plant Science
244 Berg Hall, Box 2207A

The department is committed to graduate education in applied and basic plant sciences, as well as to providing experiences in instruction and grant writing towards producing competitive students well-prepared for careers in the plant sciences.

Graduate training includes classroom instruction, seminars designed to hone oral and written skills, and meaningful experience in laboratory and field research techniques. Departmental diversity encourages collaborations among disciplines and research programs that inform graduate training.

The Department of Agronomy, Horticulture, and Plant Science is an integrated department that includes programs in crop production, plant breeding, entomology, plant pathology, soils, GIS, water management, weed science, and biotechnology. The primary goals of the department are to conduct research in the above areas, to disseminate the research to the public, and to help prepare students for quality lives which includes preparation for an occupation in one or more of the below-mentioned disciplines.

Graduate Faculty

Shaukat Ali, Associate Professor
John Ball, Professor
Dwayne Beck, Professor
Bruce Bleakley, Professor
Arvid Boe, Professor
Stephanie Bruggeman, Assistant Professor
Rhoda L Burrows, Professor
Emmanuel Byamukama, Associate Professor
Melanie Caffe-Treml, Associate Professor
C. Gregg Carlson, Professor Emeritus
Jiyul Chang, Lecturer
David Clay, Distinguished Professor
Sharon Clay, Distinguished Professor
Thomas DeSutter, Adjunct Professor
James Doolittle, Associate Vice President for Research and Professor
Anne Fennell, Distinguished Professor
Bryan W. French, Adjunct
Billy Fuller, Professor
Hani Ghosheh, Lecturer
Karl D. Glover, Professor
Jose Luis Gonzalez, Professor
Christopher Graham, Associate Professor
David Graper, Professor Emeritus
Xingyou Gu, Professor
Jose Guzman, Assistant Professor
Louis S. Hesler, Adjunct
Paul J. Johnson, Professor
Péter Kovács, Assistant Professor
Sandeep Kumar, Associate Professor
Marie Langham, Professor
Michael Lehman, Adjunct
Wanlong Li, Professor
Douglas Malo, Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Febina Mathew, Associate Professor
Thandiwe Nleya, Associate Professor
Shannon Osborne, Adjunct
Vance Owens, Professor
Sharon Papiernik, Adjunct
Cheryl Reese, Senior Lecturer
Walter Riedell, Adjunct
Sunish Sehgal, Assistant Professor
Peter Sexton, Associate Professor
Senthil Subramanian, Professor
E. Brent Turnipseed, Assistant Department Head and Professor
Adam Varenhorst, Assistant Professor
David L. Wright, Department Head and Professor
Jixiang Wu, Professor


Master’s Degrees

Doctoral Degrees

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges & Departments