2016-2017 Undergraduate Catalog 
    May 26, 2024  
2016-2017 Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Department of Journalism and Mass Communication

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges, Departments, & their Academic Programs

Mary Arnold, Department Head
Department of Journalism and Mass Communication
Yeager Hall 211
E-mail: mary.arnold@sdstate.edu


Professor Arnold, Head; Professors Lucchesi, Olson; Professors Emeriti Lee, Getz, Giago; Associate Professors Emerita Laird, Perpich; Assistant Professors: R. Britt, B. Britt, Dailey, Finneman, McEntee; Lecturer Koroglu; Instructors Harris, Helland; Instructor Emeritus C. Cecil


South Dakota State University’s Department of Journalism and Mass Communication’s mission is educating the next generation of media professionals – including journalists, strategic communicators, teachers and researchers. To fulfill our land-grant university mission, the department works closely with journalism and advertising professionals and the scholastic and the Native American community.


The Department is accredited by the national accrediting body of journalism and mass communication, the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC). The Department has been accredited continuously since accrediting began in 1948.


Advertising (B.A./B.S.)  
Agricultural Education, Communication and Leadership (B.S.) - Communication Specialization  (with the College of Agriculture and Biological Sciences)
Journalism (B.A./B.S.)  
Public Relations (B.S.)  
Advertising Minor  
Journalism Minor  
Marketing Minor  
Social Media Minor  
Graduate Programs*
Mass Communication (M.M.C.)
Communication Studies and Journalism (M.S.) - Journalism Specialization
* Graduate degrees are offered in collaboration with the Graduate School. For details, see the Graduate Catalog.

Facilities and Services

The former Printing and Rural Journalism Building was renamed Yeager Hall in recognition of the contributions of Anson and Ada May Yeager. Mr. Yeager was longtime editor of the Argus Leader in Sioux Falls. The Department moved into expanded and renovated facilities in 2000 that cost $2.4 million. The Yeager Media Center, completed in 2012, is a high-definition television and new media facility and the primary center for SDSU campus television and media production. Newly remodeled classrooms enhance teaching space in the modern educational facility. The Joe L. Floyd News Media Laboratory is connected to digital video and audio production suites. The second floor of Yeager Hall includes a conference room, a reading room, a student lounge, and individual offices for the Department’s faculty members.

Student Support and Engagement Opportunities

Students are invited to participate in one of the student organizations advised by faculty in the Department:

  • Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow (Advised by Lora Berg and Professor Lyle Olson)
  • Journalism Club (Advised by Assistant Professor Teri Finneman and Instructor Jim Helland)
  • Camera Club (Advised by Assistant Professor Rebecca McEntee)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges, Departments, & their Academic Programs